Archive for August 29th, 2013

August 29, 2013

Harriet Tubman Statue in Little Rock


Last night I went to a Archeological Society meeting in Little Rock, down from the Clinton Presidential Center. I had a few minutes before I met up with some other college students attending the same meeting, so I took this opportunity to take a stroll.

I had parked under the I30 bridge, on the opposite side of the Clinton Library, on E. Markham St. On the back side of E. Markham street is the Ottenheimer Plaza and the Arkansas River Trail. Along the Arkansas River trail you would find many sculptures, adorned with plaques on who donated the sculpture and what the sculpture is called.

I didn’t walk the entire trail as it is quite extensive and it was a very hot day, but I stopped and snapped a few pictures of the Clinton library and some of the sculptures and artwork in the area I was in.

Image

It reads: “Children if you’re tired, keep going. If you’re hungry, keep going. If you’re scared, keep going. If you want the taste of freedom, keep going.”

Image

One sculpture in particular caught my eye. It is of a woman holding the hand of a little child. Me being a mother of a three year old and quite used to holding my daughter’s hand as I walk, thought oh what a cute sculpture. I snapped a picture, then read the plaque to see what it was called and who the artist was. The Plaque said it is Harriet Tubman. Being a person who loves History my first reaction was, oh how cool is this!

I wasn’t able to research why there was a Harriet Tubman sculpture near the Clinton library until today when I found another wordpress blog explaining more about it.

Click this link to find out more about the sculpture: http://lrculturevulture.com/2012/02/12/sculpture-vulture-harriet-tubman/